Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-07-2006, 03:08 PM

Default Ask me about working with derivatives for \'retail\' clients

I worked for some years for two large I-banks with good PCS/HNW retail divisons. I sold to, and traded for, very high-net-worth clients [generally $100mm+ and up] various derivatives, and structured products, including interest rate notes, swaps, currencies, collars for equities and FX, etc. Not as a broker, I worked with the PCS gang, but I was paid salary+ year-end bonus, not 30-40% commission like they got.

Many of these clients just liked to trade very large sums of money, often using leverage, even if they had no perceived 'edge,' in whatever market was hot or on the front page of the WSJ, so we obliged them.
Ask away.
Old 12-07-2006, 03:09 PM

Default Re: Ask me about selling/trading derivatives for \'retail\' clients

What's the most you ever lost for somebody?
Old 12-07-2006, 03:15 PM

Generally, we didn't have/want discretion with this stuff. For clients where we would just execute buys and sells for them, the largest would be around $750k in a single trade, but during the course of a year certainly more than that [net], but I didn't have too many big losing trades in a row - if you do, clients just stop trading.
Each year, I was profitable over the entire client base that traded, ranging btw $8-15mm Net.

More usually - they had discretion and often ignored my advice, I'd say several million dollars, perhaps $12mm or so.

Now, on a straight hedge [buying puts, using forwards] the loss on the put/call purchase could be tens of Millions, but no economic loss as they had equivalent gain on other side. I spent a lot of my time meeting with clients and explaining risks of unhedged positions [say you got 500mm CAD from a sale] for USD-based investors. [And vice versa.]