Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-14-2006, 10:45 AM

Default Help Madtown make awesome coffee (aka coffee-making tips)

So I've started drinking coffee. There's a great little coffee shop right across the street, but this morning I discovered my roommates have a coffee machine that no one's been using. Instead of treking the twenty feet to the shop, I fired that bad boy up and tossed in a package of Starbucks that someone had in a drawer.

It tastes like crap. I don't know if I did something wrong with the filter, or if the machine has some settings I need to adjust (I just hit auto and it started going), or if -- the most likely reason -- the grounds were just really stale.

Anyway, tell me how to make kickass coffee, so I can do it here on rainy mornings like today. Favorite blends, cream/sugar combos, whatever. I'm a coffee noob, so I'll take any help I can get. And if this turns into an elitist coffee drinker's thread, that's fine too.
Old 04-14-2006, 10:51 AM

Default Re: Help Madtown make awesome coffee (aka coffee-making tips)

get a medium sized french press (you can get these at target and similar, they make about 2.5 mugs of coffee) and one of the following kinds of coffee:
cafe bustelo, el morro, el pico. make sure to get the espresso roast. if you cannot find any of these, get some espresso roast coffee with spanish on the package. this is the good stuff, however it should not be expensive.

heat up some water, put 3 tablespoons of coffee in the french press, and add the water once it is hot. give it a minute or so, and do the press thing and have a mug.
Old 04-14-2006, 12:06 PM

French press is the way to go.
Old 04-14-2006, 12:16 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]
Old 04-14-2006, 12:22 PM

Pura Vida Coffee
Old 04-14-2006, 03:15 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]