Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-20-2007, 08:32 AM

Default Fustrated, Tired, Hungry and Numb - 5hrs of poker

So I am not trying to be a poker "brat" here, but I am starting to get a little fustrated. The last three nights i have been virutally breaking even... which is fine ! Certainly better than losing! BUT.. since I am still a newbie to cash poker, I didn't anticipate the time and emotion that I would be investing into the game of poker.

When I was playing for play money I would come on play for an hour maybe 2 hours and go, and that was that. But now I find myself on for hours ( like most serious online players.

The point of this post is this : How can I learn to cope with the grind? When I am winning big, the hours fly by and the numbness in my rear doesn't seem to bother me, but when my stack stays virtually the same or does this little roller coaster action of up one minute and down the next, I feel a little fustrated, tired, forget to eat so I am hungry, and my butt goes numb. Even though I try and move around a bit and get the blood flow going, I am just not used to so many hours sitting.

Help!
Old 09-20-2007, 09:23 AM

Default Re: Fustrated, Tired, Hungry and Numb - 5hrs of poker

I assume you are playing ALWAYS for a bonus?
This is one way to help convince yourself you are still investing your time wisely!

GL, Marcus.
Old 09-20-2007, 09:39 AM

^^^ Yes be sure you're getting bonus/rakeback. This is by far the easiest way to increase your ROI, etc. Also, it is a grind. The skill edge in poker can take thousands of hands to manifest. Only a small percentage of players beat the game over time and it's not easy to manage the ups and downs.
Old 09-20-2007, 09:53 AM

Set yourself reasonable goals. Once you have played x hands or x hours, you play until your next big blind and rack up. Period.