Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-28-2006, 07:27 AM

Default The micro pot limit omaha/8 personal challenge .10/.25pl

My account took some bad beats recently and I wasn't running very well. I got sick of playing limit cash games so I started playing some more pot limit h/l. My ADD prevents me from playing too many tables at once (both a joke and serious), so I dont like playing more than 3, but I feel that's my perfect number for small buyin pot limit games. I started multitabling .10/.25 and I've already had a great session so far, but obviously anything could happen. I have a few questions about this because I'm going to keep close track of my results to see my precise ability to beat this game (or maybe not?).

A close friend of mine and really good poker player has made two different comments about the game over the past year and they are as follows:
*Really good omaha and stud players will have less variance than good holdem players.
*Really good no limit/pot limit players will have less variance than good limit players.

I trust his opinions and I believe him. However, the second statement seems a little obscure to me and really doesnt make much sense. I definitely agree that stud and omaha players have less variance in general. So with this information availible, I am curious as to how many buyins for a pot limit omaha h/l game should I be looking at for optimal bankroll management. The numbers I've heard thrown around are as low as 10 to as many as 25, what do you feel is the right number for this game?

Another question I have is regarding showdown win percentage. I have heard that 70% showdown win percentage in holdem is very good, perhaps exceptionally good. What do you think is a good for the game at discussion? Since the game is h/l I think you're obligated to win more showdowns even if it's just for half the pot.