Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Heads Up Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-28-2007, 06:40 PM

Default Beginner\'s Guide to HU SNG (Pooh-Bah post)

Beginners Guide to HU SnG

My hope for this post is that it is going to be a helpful starting place for people who are new to the forum, I am sure there are plenty of people who are capable of writing this but no one has yet so now I am. First Ill write about my experience with HU sngs because that is what all the info in this post will be based upon. I started playing HU sngs seriously back in late December 2006 early January 2007 I started messing around at the Full Tilt $5+.05 regular speeds and quickly moved up. At the$20 level I switched over to turbos and was negative over my first 200 matches of turbos, after that I learned everything I could about HU sngs and played them almost exclusively for 5 months straight. After about 3 months I dropped out of college with $3k in the bank while I was playing 55 and 33 turbos and I quickly progressed to the 110 and 220 level.

So why should you play HU sngs?
Basically there is no other form of poker where you can make so much money per hour with a relatively small bankroll. If you are a 10% ROI or higher player you could easily take $500 and play the 22s on FT for a little under $20 an hour 1 tabling with almost no risk of ruin. If you were to compare that to other forms of poker you would need a $1k+ bankroll 4 tabling 50nl or about $1500 playing the 16 9-man turbos 8 tabling to make a similar hourly rate (dont get on my ass about numbers Im just giving you an idea). Clearly this is a great way to build a bankroll if your starting low.

Where should you play?