Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-04-2006, 01:05 PM

Default Was this really stupid?

I'm new to tournament play. I was playing in a $10 NL HE Party Poker tournament with 2500 entries. We had just gotten to under 20 people.

The blinds were 4000/8000, my stack was a little over 60000, and the average stack was about 130000. The payouts for places 11-20 are the same ($175). I decided that in order to have a chance at the higher places (1st paid $5250), I needed to double up before the blinds ate me down to where doubling up wouldn't do me any good.

The big stack was raising very liberally. He raised to $24000, there were a couple folds to me, and I pushed with A8s in mid-to-late position. Foolish?

I figured he would auto-call and that I would be close to a coin-flip to his range. In retro-spect, I think that the potential for someone behind me to wake up with a hand makes this a fold.
Old 01-04-2006, 01:11 PM

Default Re: Was this really stupid?

I don't like your position at all. If you were in the blinds and the liberal raiser was doing this from the button or the cutoff this would be a much better idea. A8 is a trouble hand because in these PartyPoker events people are not laying down AJ-AK or pairs from nines up to your push.
Old 01-04-2006, 01:18 PM

Yeah, this is really the key to why this was a mistake. I still have about 3-4 hands that could wake up with a decent pair or a big Ace and call. Then my desired coin-flip becomes a 3-way pot in which one of the hands has me dominated.

[ QUOTE ]
I don't like your position at all. If you were in the blinds and the liberal raiser was doing this from the button or the cutoff this would be a much better idea. A8 is a trouble hand because in these PartyPoker events people are not laying down AJ-AK or pairs from nines up to your push.

[/ QUOTE ]
Old 01-04-2006, 01:30 PM

[ QUOTE ]