Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-04-2007, 08:11 AM

Default I want to start jogging but...

I quit smoking two weeks ago and I figured that I need to do something healthy so I wouldn't start againg like I always do. I think this is my 5th-7th attempt to quit and I have been smoking for 8 years or so (I am 24 now). I decided to start jogging because I always wanted to do it and it's easy.

So I had my first run yesterday. I started slowly, gradually increasing speed but I wasn't able to run for more than 1-2 minutes at a time. I had to decrease my speed and just walk, than I would run for 1-2 more minutes and had to stop again.

Is it normal? What should I do, shall I keep jogging and wait til I get in shape? Does anyone know anything about or had experience with doing sports after quitting smoking? i need some info on that and I couldn't find anything on the net. Thanks!
Old 05-04-2007, 08:36 AM

Default Re: I want to start jogging but...

There's nothing at all wrong with alternating running/walking like that...if you can keep your heart rate up the whole time then that's fine. Obviously your goal is to start making the running intervals longer and the walking shorter, until eventually it's one big run.

Then there's the HIIT that everyone's crazy about, which is alternating full sprints with recovery walks, but don't worry about trying that until you get in decent cardio shape from regular jogging.
Old 05-04-2007, 09:10 AM

Getting outside is the hardest part.

No shame in a walk/run combo. In no time you will be able to cover more distance between walking.

Good luck!
Old 05-04-2007, 09:28 AM