Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-04-2006, 09:44 AM

Default Omaha Chasers....

I'm fairly new to the game - but in my short time playing I have run into what seems to be pretty dumb answers in regards to drawing/chasing.

First - I understand drawing with double digit draws/wraps/redraws/etc etc - and why it's good. But what confuses the hell outta me, is when someone who clearly started playing hold'em, uses the "Omaha is a drawing game" excuse to suck out.

Example 1 - Player A calls pot sized bets on flop & turn only to river an obvious straight or flush and when that is the ONLY draw they had. They say they would never do this in Hold'em but Omaha is a drawing game.

Example 2 - When discussing this hand (not me playing - link here ):
[ QUOTE ]
hi, i usually play NL50 and plo/8 sng's but never plo because it's usually full ring at stars. did i play this right? i was trying to steal the button and i had a decent hand anyway. then i was trying to charge his draws by betting pot on the flop and turn. on the end a ton of straight draws got there so i gave up.

PokerStars Pot-Limit Omaha High, $0.50 BB (5 handed) internettexasholdem.com

SB ($14.50)
BB ($33.40)
UTG ($20.45)
Hero ($50)
Button ($62.55)

Preflop: Hero is MP with 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 4[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $1.5</font>, Button calls $1.50, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, BB calls $1.

Flop: ($4.75) 8[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 9[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $4.55</font>, Button folds, BB calls $4.55.