Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-21-2006, 03:05 PM

Default Why do poker players seem to think they are great?

I have been playing poker for a few years and the one thing I find in most serious players is that they think they know all about poker. Casual players or those purely playing for fun not so much. It just seems anyone who has read a poker book or discussed strategy with a friend thinks they have it figured out. One of the most common traits of these types is complaining when they lose to a flush but when they have the same draw they play it the same way and will then justify it to the guy he just beat who is now complaining. I am not complaining because I think this is what makes the games profitable but I am curious to others thoughts on the topic. What is psychogically that makes people feel they are superior to their competition in poker.
Old 10-21-2006, 03:12 PM

Default Re: Why do poker players seem to think they are great?

Any direct competition / confrontation is going to dent "easily dentable" egos. There's a lot of "puffing of chests" in poker- and it's a dam good job there is- that's when the mistakes are made. And the ego stops the mistakes becoming apparent and fixable. May it long remain.

Ian
Old 10-21-2006, 03:34 PM

It's natural. You're playing a people game that takes a great deal of intelligence, and a lot of the more serious players are smart guys. They've never been the dumb guy in the room in their life, so naturally if they find a few things that work at the table they're going to feel pretty brilliant. I use to be the same way (mind you, I was a bad player, and am only now starting to become decent).

What's more interesting is that in my case, and with a lot of others, the better they get the more humble they are.
Old 10-21-2006, 04:51 PM

[ QUOTE ]