Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-11-2006, 10:10 AM

Default Flopped straight, no redraws

$100 Party PLO

Couple of limpers to me, I call in LP with A [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]K [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]T [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], sb folds, bb checks.

Flop: Q [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]J [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

BB bets pot of $4.50, ep calls, I call.

Turn 6 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

BB bets pot of $18, ep folds, I call.

River Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]

BB bets pot of $54, I fold.

Thoughts on any streets are appreciated.
Old 05-11-2006, 10:16 AM

Default Re: Flopped straight, no redraws

On flop I would raise. Happy to be told I'm wrong (I'm fairly new to this game and playing much lower limits) but you have the nuts here, make them pay to draw out on you.

Ditto the turn.
Old 05-11-2006, 04:14 PM

While my initial reaction was call the flop, raise the turn, I think I really like raising the flop much better.

First, if he 3-bets, indicating freeroll, you can get away without losing an unacceptable amount. You can also still get away on the turn if a flush card hits and he bets into you.

Second, you force him to really have nuts with redraw rather than the other way around.

I really think raising the flop here is the best way both to use your positional advantage and to get away from the hand in case of doubt. If you wait to raise until the turn, then he puts you in, you almost have to call. If you raise on the flop, you put the pressure on him if he doesn't have either nut straight with freeroll or set with flush draw and you can still get away from your own dead-end nut hand.