Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-06-2006, 04:52 AM

Default Rising interest rates / housing market scares me

I am still fairly new to the world of investing, but I am trying to educate myself, and recently in this forum as well as some wise blogs that have been linked to, almost everyone says that the US economy has severe problems.

If I understand the issue clearly (which I'm sure I don't) the rising interest rates and overpriced housing market simply cannot coexist. It so happens I am in the process of buying my very first home, a condo in San Diego near the ocean (not cheap!). Reading about a collapsing housing market, and rising interest rates (I am getting a 5/1 ARM so that affects me too) is terrifying to someone making such a large purchase for the first time!

I think I understand the problem but nobody seems to be saying what to do about it. I need a place to live, so even if the housing market crashes, I'm still going to have to make my monthly payment instead of selling, of course even if I wanted to sell during a crashing housing market I wouldn't find a buyer. Is the worst-case scenario for me that I will owe more than the house will be worth? In theory if I ride out such a crash and can make my monthly payments, eventually things will change again and over the longterm, the investment might make me money? (that's probably too vague to be answerable)

Separately, if that scenario did take place, what types of investments would become better? I would assume international stocks? Gold?

Thank you in advance for any insight,
DeathDonkey
Old 05-06-2006, 03:24 PM

Default Re: Rising interest rates / housing market scares me