Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-18-2006, 02:02 AM

Default I know what I would tell someone who posted this hand....

So why didn't I listen? Why do I feel good about it?

This wasn't a brain fart, I knew what range I had to assume to make this fold. Am I turning the corner, or losing my F#*$ing mind?

Party Poker, 109$ about 25 left, maybe 100 jump at 20, 1st is 10K.
The UTG player was fairly tight in 30-40 hands (his other raises were >2.5x), this was his 1st raise from EP. Table had been pretty straight forward. Now, I am new to larger buy-ins. If this was a a 20$ MTT, I jam. At the table, I honestly thought he was trying to see a cheap flop or had AA-KK. So did a change in stakes turn me into a nit? If it matters, the stacks to my right weren't going to be calling my pushes without AT+ or a pair, so my chip situation wasn't very bad average was probably around 80-90 or so. thoughts?

**basically this I felt like if i was getting called, it was AA-KK, and I didnt think he folded often enough.

Blinds: t3000/t6000
(Ante: t100)
9 players
Converter

Stack sizes:
UTG: t101433
UTG+1: t43010
MP1: t33432
MP2: t48864
MP3: t57416
A_PLUS: t53341
Button: t205021
SB: t106379
BB: t76532

Pre-flop: (9 players) A_PLUS is CO with J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
<font color="#cc0000">UTG raises to t12000</font>, 4 folds, A_PLUS folds, 3 folds.
Uncalled bets: t6000 returned to UTG.

Results:
Final pot: t15900
Old 09-18-2006, 02:08 AM

Default Re: I know what I would tell someone who posted this hand....

Yeah this is pretty bad. Jam this everytime.

I think the more interesting issue is becoming too weak/tight when moving up in buy ins.
Old 09-18-2006, 02:08 AM

You need a very exceptional read to fold here. I would shove. btw, this is my regular buy-in level.