Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-15-2007, 06:18 PM

Default Sunday Million....KK and I\'m hating life

Hi all, I'm still a relative n00b to MTT's, but I have a lot of cash game experience. I apologize if this too simple, but it was the beginning of the end for my tourney.

Level 3 (blinds 50/100). I'm in the BB w/K [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]K [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] and approx. $10,500

Villian is UTG and has me slightly covered. No reads on villian at all, he's only been in 2 or 3 pots and hasn't shown down a hand.

Villian raises to $300, 2 folds, MP calls, folds to button who calls, SB folds. I make it $1600 to go. UTG smooth calls and others fold.

Pot: $4250

Flop: J [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 8 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] (or similar)

I lead for $2500, villian insta-pushes. I hate life and fold.

Does anybody think there is enough chance of him not having AA here to justify a call? Folding here left me with around half the average stack, and I never recovered, but I did struggle along for a couple more levels. I Almost wonder if calling and busting to AA right then wouldn't have been better. Anybody call here? Should I have played it differently? Any thoughts appreciated.
Old 04-15-2007, 06:25 PM

Default Re: Sunday Million....KK and I\'m hating life

TBH I don't think he ever has aces here... he'd likely re-raise pre-flop as most million donks do (they either slowplay or fastplay, no in between call of the 3-bet). The only hand that beats you is JJ, and occasionally, but not likely, 88 does this also.

He does this with QJ+, TT sometimes, JJ+, and air if he's a donk.

So you're behind two of them and have most of his range dominated. If this is a different tourney then you have a tougher call, but I instacall this.
Old 04-15-2007, 06:28 PM