Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Health and Fitness (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   Squat Problem w/ paragraphs (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=493851)

cbiz 09-05-2007 12:08 AM

Squat Problem w/ paragraphs

I have been squatting 2-3 times per week for a few months now usually warming up and then doing 3x5. I have been making some decent progress and I thought everything was all well until a friend of mine commented on a set of mine today. He claimed that my lower back was rounding right when I almost got to parallel. The gym that I go to has a mirror infront of the squat rack but not to the side. I always set up with my shoulders back and such so I thought I was keeping a neutral spine and although I would sometimes get pain in my lower back for a few seconds after some sets I thought nothing of it as it went away after a few seconds and I felt fine the next day.

I then reracked the weight turned sideways and attempted to do a bodyweight squat. He was right, withing about 20 degrees (guess) of parallel my lower back rounds and if i go slow and try to forefully keep it from rounding it streches my hamstrings and basically is almost impossible for me to do it. I have read other places that tight hamstring can cause this and I for one have those as I am lucky to get my hands within a foot and a half of the ground when doing the classic bend over hamstring stretch. My dad is similarly inflexible, but I have never worried about it as it really never bothered me through high school running/soccer and I have been active my entire life.