Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Internet Gambling (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Swings - multitabling - what should I expect? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=471401)

automaton_22 08-07-2007 08:49 AM

Swings - multitabling - what should I expect?

I have just had an unbelievable 1300 hands, across which I swung up almost 4 buyins, then collapsed in a tilt-frenzy, down about 5 buyins.

The end result is that I am now about 1.5 buy-ins under where the day started.

I am a relative newbie, so am interested to know if this kind of swing an unusual occurrence? Or is this just the territory we are in?

Pretty gutted about the 5 buy-in collapse, and know I have some serious emotional control issues that I need to deal with, but that is my problem.

Comments about what sorts of 'swings' I should expect 3 tabling NL25 are very welcome.

hongster 08-07-2007 08:52 AM

Re: Swings - multitabling - what should I expect?

These swings are standard. Usual thing to do after losing 5 buyins is to walk away and play another day. You'll want to check if you are playing well and getting the money in ahead in all-in confrontations.

Clever Nickname 08-07-2007 08:53 AM

5 buyin swings are super standard.

automaton_22 08-07-2007 09:01 AM

Interesting, and seriously reassuring, I know I have a lot to learn, and know I was tilting, but didn't want to believe that what happened was a chip dump of mega-donk proportions.

Can some of you describe for me a typical swing cycle on a typical day?

[Aside: One thing that alarms me is how fast a instance of tilt can compound on itself and get out of control. It is a strange thing to be conscious of the fact that a decision is a bad one, and make it anyway, then buy in again and do it all over again, then again.]

kcheel 08-07-2007 10:05 AM