Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Small Stakes (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   what would aba do? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=450843)

ryanj247 07-14-2007 08:38 AM

what would aba do?

i've been playing full time for 2 years. NL since december of last year. i've always been a small winner and i've never been able to make enough to both pay bills and build a bankroll so that i can move up. i've been running horribly, so i spent a couple days reading this forum and got inspired by the aba well post. i decided to try a session of just 2-3 tables really trying to play my A game with the thought in mind "what would aba do"? lol

my normal game is very tight and pretty much predictable. from what i've seen, aba plays many more hands from pretty much all positions and plays them quite aggressively. he seems to be willing to put $ on the line to try to take pots from weak players who are likely to have weak holdings.

when trying to emulate this style, i want to try to make sure i'm not just spewing chips in inappropriate spots. in aba's well post he really emphasizes posting hands on here, so i guess i'll give that a shot.

the villain in this hand is 36/7/1 and sitting with 60BB = no reason to think he's anything other than a typical weak player. i've been raising quite a bit from the button and CO (23/20 or so overall), but although i probably have an aggressive image i haven't done anything crazy.

Full Tilt Poker - No Limit Hold'em Cash Game - $0.50/$1 Blinds - 5 Players - (LegoPoker HH Converter)

SB: $192.20
BB: $50.50
UTG: $62.35
Hero (CO): $107.45
BTN: $98.50

Preflop: Hero is dealt K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 9[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] (5 Players)
UTG folds, <font color="red">Hero raises to $3.00</font>, 2 folds, BB calls $2.00