Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Business, Finance, and Investing (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Technical Analysis (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=363477)

RiverRider 03-25-2007 01:32 AM

Technical Analysis

Im new to stock investing and I try to improve my knowledge in that area. I listen sometimes to a tv program where a guy who is supposely a technical analysis professionnal says he can predict the future evolution of a stock by ONLY looking at the stock graph of that company and by looking at the graph of others similar companies in the same area.

I must say that im sceptical about this method and I would like to know what you guys think about this.

mikeczyz 03-25-2007 03:45 AM

Re: Technical Analysis

if that's all there was to stock picking...(pick any number of suffixes to complete the sentence)

kimchi 03-25-2007 03:51 AM

Nobody can predict prices. TA uses prices or derivatives of prices to paint a picture of the current opinions of market participants. The prices represent the current consensus of these people who in turn are influenced by their emotions.

A price graph leaves behind the footprints of these people and can be used to make informed decidions based on the probability of the price being higher or lower in the next hour/day/week/month or whatever timeframe the trading is trading within.

TA is neither an art nor a science - it's more of an arty science. Fundamental analysis uses company data to make investment decisions, whereas TA uses the one piece of data that can't be manipulated, massaged, or fraudulently changed - the price.

Who cares if a crappy company's stock price is increasing? If a price is likely to rise or is rising, we want to be long.

[ QUOTE ]