Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Business, Finance, and Investing (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Advice on Blog. (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=284152)

scotty M 12-15-2006 03:24 PM

Advice on Blog.

Hi all, my blog has had zero traffic over the past few days. I haven't been promoting it yet, waiting to get some more content up first.

Would anyone mind giving me some feedback? Is the content interesting? Any comments are appreciated, even negative, let me have it.

Also, when I do start marketing it, what's a good way to go? Could adwords actually pay off for a blog? Any suggestions here? Thanks guys, all help is appreciated, and I'll return the favor any way I can.

http://www.broketoballin.com

Thanks,

Scott

octopi 12-15-2006 04:39 PM

Re: Advice on Blog.

Well... I'm not a blog expert. But as a reader of friend's blogs, sports blogs and yes, even the everpresent 'money making blog' I can tell you that what you're really missing is content.

To me, it feels like you've seen what other sites like stevepavlina.com and problogger.net are doing and how they make money off of ads and the like, and have just jumped on the bandwagon. It kind of has a "Dear Diary, I tried to make money today, yada yada Ebay, yada yada, give me feedback" It's a little sad (I don't mean that in a cutthroat way, I really wanted to read something interesting! More stuff like the Piano Roll story- although I did have to Google what the hell they were). You can't make a website hoping to find content, you have to make a website around content, and I think your ideas need some brainstorming.