Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Student Life (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   GRE WOWOWOWO (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=252819)

MoreGentilythanU 11-05-2006 12:14 AM

GRE WOWOWOWO

I just took the GRE Physics subject test after graduating with a degree in physics from Brandeis University.

WOW.

I think hopefully I got 10-20 problems out of 100. So sick.
By the way, this is a test that I could have done well on if I studied for like a month for because it was basically a memorization test of the various physical laws. Nothing really innovative about it, though it's not as though I was in any state to solve some sort of original problems.

IronDragon1 11-05-2006 11:13 AM

Re: GRE WOWOWOWO

[ QUOTE ]
I just took the GRE Physics subject test after graduating with a degree in physics from Brandeis University.

WOW.

I think hopefully I got 10-20 problems out of 100. So sick.
By the way, this is a test that I could have done well on if I studied for like a month for because it was basically a memorization test of the various physical laws. Nothing really innovative about it, though it's not as though I was in any state to solve some sort of original problems.

[/ QUOTE ]

Then why didn't you start studying sooner?

MoreGentilythanU 11-05-2006 12:08 PM

pokr

HajiShirazu 11-07-2006 02:24 AM

Unless you are like playing NL $1k or above and are a big winner taking the time to study for this test (even 1 hour per day for a month and a half) and probably doing 200 points better as a result is worth it, since you can get into better grad schools = more realistic chance of decent industry/teaching position/less postdocs after you graduate = 100's of thousands of $ over lifetime.