Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   The Lounge: Discussion+Review (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Gin in the freezer? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=214765)

DagnyTaggert 09-18-2006 03:50 AM

Gin in the freezer?

I have a bottle of Bombay Sapphire and want to make some martinis a little later. Can I put it, and keep it, in the freezer without it turning solid or ruining the taste?

Borgland 09-18-2006 05:34 AM

Re: Gin in the freezer?

I put rum in the freezer so I dont have to use ice and have no problems.

tshort 09-18-2006 05:46 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I have a bottle of Bombay Sapphire and want to make some martinis a little later. Can I put it, and keep it, in the freezer without it turning solid or ruining the taste?

[/ QUOTE ]

So long as your freezer isn't colder than -30 degrees celsius, you will fine.

MrWookie 09-18-2006 10:11 AM

It won't freeze, and it won't totally ruin the taste. Some people argue, however, that for cocktails, some water from melting the ice in the shaker is a necessary ingredient. When you keep the gin in the freezer, you get colder drinks, yes, but you also get a little less water in them, which can be detrimental. Try out making a Martini both ways and see what you think.

troymclur 09-18-2006 12:39 PM

Freezing alcohol makes it easier to drink but takes the 'taste' out of it (which is why you'll get killed for telling people you freeze scotch). With Gin and vodka, the point of the liquor is to simply taste like nothing so it's ok to freeze it. Also, shaking your martini makes for a weaker drink. Man up and stir that [censored] [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Larger point is, martini's are ok, but please don't use Bombay for mixed drinks, you're just wasting good liquor and your own money.

oneeye13 09-19-2006 12:51 AM

[ QUOTE ]