Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Science, Math, and Philosophy (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   Best arguments against post-modernism? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=522267)

captZEEbo 10-13-2007 05:22 PM

Best arguments against post-modernism?

Anyone have some good arguments against post-modernism?

I'm new to this idea, and so far it makes perfect sense (in my head) as the best ideology. On wikipedia, they quote Noam Chomsky in the criticism section as follows:

[ QUOTE ]
There are lots of things I don't understand -- say, the latest debates over whether neutrinos have mass or the way that Fermat's last theorem was (apparently) proven recently. But from 50 years in this game, I have learned two things: (1) I can ask friends who work in these areas to explain it to me at a level that I can understand, and they can do so, without particular difficulty; (2) if I'm interested, I can proceed to learn more so that I will come to understand it. Now Derrida, Lacan, Lyotard, Kristeva, etc. --- even Foucault, whom I knew and liked, and who was somewhat different from the rest --- write things that I also don't understand, but (1) and (2) don't hold: no one who says they do understand can explain it to me and I haven't a clue as to how to proceed to overcome my failures. That leaves one of two possibilities: (a) some new advance in intellectual life has been made, perhaps some sudden genetic mutation, which has created a form of "theory" that is beyond quantum theory, topology, etc., in depth and profundity; or (b) ... I won't spell it out.

– Noam Chomsky

[/ QUOTE ]

which IMO sounds like his premise is: I don't really understand it + I am the smartest man alive = it's bunk.

Can anyone add anything?

P.S. I suck at search so sorry that this was probably asked before. You can just point me to links if you want to.

Nielsio 10-13-2007 05:25 PM