Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   The Lounge: Discussion+Review (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Non Fiction Recs: Chess, Guitar and Photography. (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=555199)

JMP300z 11-26-2007 10:47 PM

Non Fiction Recs: Chess, Guitar and Photography.

Ok, I know I ask for fiction recommendations for vacation in my other thread but these are for different purposes.

Guitar: I am a self taught average player (almost 5 yrs) w/ poor rhythm, poor soloing and no ability to read music. I have an average understanding of chords, timing and the layout of the guitar. Would like to learn the basics that I couldn't find well organized online as well as get into scales and soloing.

Chess: I am an above average player w/ only the most basic understanding of openings etc. I beat all my friends but they suck. Ive been watching Curtains Videos here: http://www.chessvideos.tv//forum/forum-24.html but would like a pretty comprehensive book.

Photography: this is for a gift, preferably digital based, for an amateur, was thinking Understanding Exposure or Complete Digital Photography 3rd ed.

Thanks.

-JP

Taso 11-26-2007 11:15 PM

Re: Non Fiction Recs: Chess, Guitar and Photography.

guitar-

www.guitarnoise.com - great lessons, and great forums too. You can ask anything at the forums, ask about scales, ask info on soloing and improvisation. They have a section where you can post your playing and get tips/comments/etc. What kind of music do you play? I've given lessons to people before, I could probably help too if you're looking at blues/blues rock type stuff. But again, guitarnoise is awesome.

tarheeljks 11-26-2007 11:47 PM