Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Small Stakes Limit (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Beginner plays AK .5/1 limit (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=450613)

Alexost 07-13-2007 11:31 PM

Beginner plays AK .5/1 limit

I'm just beginning to play real money Hold'em online after having read some books and playing a few thousand hands of play money at fulltilt. I'm looking for some comments on how I played this hand. Thanks!

PokerStars 0.50/1.00 Hold'em (9 handed) Hand History converter Courtesy of PokerZion.com

Preflop: Hero is UTG+1 with A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. CO posts a blind of $0.50.
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, Button calls, SB calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>.

Flop: (8 SB) 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Button raises</font>, SB folds, Hero calls.

At this point I'm trying to figure some pot odds calculations in effort to help with the decision on whether or not to call. Theres $4.50 in the pot (if my calcs are correct re-reading the hand history) giving me 9-1 pot odds to call in hopes to hit one of my overcards. (Two overcards with 1 card card to come I need 7-1 odds, and I have 2 cards to come so I'm well above odds needed to call... Correct?)

The board's not too scary except for the jack, and I see a win with my A or K hitting w/2 cards to come, if my opponent has a pair of jacks.

Turn: (6 BB) A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, Button calls.