Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Psychology (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   going pro (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=386009)

TheChad 04-23-2007 08:33 AM

going pro

I just had a thought/question.
Have any of you all when playing poker just sort of "became" a pro? I'm thinking in the way that you just fell into it and never really decided to do it.
I'm no pro by any means, but I'm finding that more bills are paid by poker than by my actual job.

johnnyrocket 04-23-2007 02:24 PM

Re: going pro

u gradually win more and can fall into it i guess, its not usually just one day unless u win a huge tourney, its a gradual process over time.

TheChad 04-23-2007 04:03 PM

yeah, something like that. you just keep playing and playing. You study and make reads and win pots. pretty soon, you "wake up" and you're like, whoa! I'm a pro!?!?

PokerNewbie 04-23-2007 04:27 PM

how long have you been playing? sometimes you can wake up and think that you're playing great when in reality your on the good side of variance.

that's a mistake I have seen .any make...

best of luck at the tables!

elena_elphie 04-23-2007 04:28 PM

I did. I started playing poker in April 2004 after finishing a horrendous software contract. I was planning to take a few months off to figure out what I wanted to do next. Then after a few months I was making a small amount playing poker and it was time to go back to work again, but I became severely ill, I could barely breathe. I was misdiagnosed with asthma, and then in December 2004 finally diagnosed with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma which had already metastisized. The docs gave me a 50/50 chance and I didn't want to get a job while doing chemo, and especially if I was going to potentially be dead soon, so I played poker for my sole source of income during those months.