Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   I'm Legal Now--What's my move? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=294069)

The Lipo Fund 12-29-2006 08:29 PM

I\'m Legal Now--What\'s my move?

I'm not going to come here claiming to be God's gift to poker. I think I'm average at best and have a lot of room for improvement, and after lurking these forums for a few months I guess this is my conduit to big money.

I turned 18 2 weeks ago, and I'm a senior in highschool. I started playing online poker about this time last year. I remember slaving away for hours at a time in a Hubbles only to bust top 100 to what I thought was "[censored]". However, at the time I had no concept of what poker was. I was merely playing my cards and hoping they held. Around the same time, a friend of mine who had sold a Yugioh card on Ebay for $30 made a big break winning a $3 MTT. He took that $1000~ and started playing $20 180 man sngs. He would go deep every now and then and was more or less breaking even. That's until he started reading some poker books, which gave him a basic foundation for his game. He promptly sent me HOH 1, 2 and two of Cloutiers books. He won 2 $20 sngs in the same week, and I found myself finishing more consistently in the freerolls. My friend continued to go deep in micro MTTs and was even #1 on the pokerstars leaderboard for about 2 weeks earlier in the year. I finished top 27 in my first freeroll but sadly the Weekly Round 2 ended early when by KK was outdrawn by JJ. I kept playing freerolls and around February I could make top 27 about twice a week, I had the things worked down to a science. I probably made about $40 in prop bets with friends at school seeing who could go deeper in the 8PM hubbles. I finally made my first $$ in a weekly round 2, I think it was .40.