Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Business, Finance, and Investing (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Etrade or Vanguard (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=499231)

the_rookie 09-12-2007 03:30 AM

Etrade or Vanguard

I'm a newbie so forgive if my question is idiotic. Does it matter which site I use for an RIRA account?

gull 09-12-2007 04:02 AM

Re: Etrade or Vanguard

That's not an idiotic question. It's good that you're opening a Roth IRA.

Honestly, it doesn't matter much - either choice would be great. If you plan to invest directly in funds, I would use Vanguard. However, using E*trade to invest in ETFs is equally good.

the_rookie 09-12-2007 01:56 PM

This is the more risker investment right, but with possibly greater returns? I'm probably going the passive approach and stick with index funds.

skindog 09-12-2007 02:08 PM

ETFs are index funds, only in share form instead of in fund form. Exactly the same passive investment vehicle.

Personally I prefer ETFs because I can trade them from any brokerage acct instead of having to have an acct with the fund manager.

darinvg 09-12-2007 03:26 PM

When you open the account where do you put your initial deposit? It said minimum of $3K in one of like 5 choices.

Chrisman886 09-12-2007 06:29 PM

[ QUOTE ]
ETFs are index funds, only in share form instead of in fund form.

[/ QUOTE ]

Not all ETFs track an index. I think that most ETFs don't.

gull 09-12-2007 07:18 PM

[ QUOTE ]
This is the more risker investment right, but with possibly greater returns? I'm probably going the passive approach and stick with index funds.

[/ QUOTE ]

No, they are pretty much equivalent. For instance, Vanguard offers ETF versions of nearly all of its funds. Their performance will be identical to the funds.

ilikeaces86_ 09-12-2007 11:44 PM

Vanguard

Fishhead24 09-13-2007 09:36 AM

ETRADE is awesome!

Preem 09-14-2007 10:52 PM