Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Other Other Topics (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Is Dave & Buster's a super ghetto place where you live? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=429487)

El Diablo 06-17-2007 04:37 PM

Is Dave & Buster\'s a super ghetto place where you live?

Dave & Buster's is an 'adult arcade' like a Chuck-E-Cheese for grownups. Video games (lots of high-end expensive ones), pool, shuffleboard, drinks, restaurant. Right around when I graduated college in Houston they opened one there on Richmond (the main bar/nightclub strip at the time) and it was marketed as a high-end hangout place for adults. Saturday night I went to one in Milpitas (south Bay Area, near San Jose). It had a pretty different feel to it. So, for those of you who have D&B's in your area:

XXXNoahXXX 06-17-2007 04:46 PM

Re: Is Dave & Buster\'s a super ghetto place where you live?

I've been to the one in Providence Place Mall in Providence, RI.

It was nice although I didn't play any games (I know, whats the point). The food was not very good, but the arcade looked impressive and it was overall pretty clean and seemed ok.

Definitely didn't have the trendy feel they were going for, but it certainly wasn't "super ghetto."

doucy 06-17-2007 04:52 PM

Definitely not ghetto. I might not call it 'nice' in an upper-class kind of way, but no way is it ghetto.

qdmcg 06-17-2007 04:54 PM

I would also agree with the "nice" upper-class type feel. All of them (AFAIK) don't allow minors in without like 1 adult per 3 minors or something (24 and up for the adult), as to try to prevent the trashy arcade type environment.

gumpzilla 06-17-2007 04:54 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Definitely not ghetto. I might not call it 'nice' in an upper-class kind of way, but no way is it ghetto.

[/ QUOTE ]

Yeah, this would be my description of the one I went to (which was in Rockville outside of DC).