Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Brick and Mortar (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=558743)

soulvamp 12-01-2007 03:37 PM

Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
Dania Jai Alai, which does not have that dumbass non-muck policy I referenced in another post:

2/4 LHE. As usual, four or five people table at showdown on a non-flush board of JQ525. A few hands show a pair, one guy shows A5 and another shows 22. Dealer mucks the pair hands, announces "trip 5s," and "trip deuces" and mucks the deuces. Simultaneously, trip deuces guy's cell phone rings, he answers his phone and steps away from the table without saying a word.

As dealer is about to shove the pot to A5, someone else at the table says, "That guy had two deuces, so he had a full house." A couple of other players agree, the dealer says, "Yes, I saw that," and shoves to pot to the player who had the deuces, who's still away from the table talking on his cell phone and is showing no interest in what is going on at the table -- in fact, he's oblivious.

Guy with A5 protests, but everyone shouts him down and the next hand is dealt. A5 did not ask for a floor ruling.

Had he done so, what should the floor's ruling be?

Small Fry 12-01-2007 03:42 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
Pocket 2's win. Dealer, with a little help, got it right.

Kudos to the other players for speaking up.

pfapfap 12-01-2007 04:08 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
Agreed, this happened exactly as it should have. Well, as it should have after it was realized the winner was mucked.

A hand that's tabled maintains all claims of the pot, regardless of what happens to the cards after that point.

AngusThermopyle 12-01-2007 04:32 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
[ QUOTE ]


Guy with A5 protests,

[/ QUOTE ]

On what basis?

Doc T River 12-01-2007 04:34 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]


Guy with A5 protests,

[/ QUOTE ]

On what basis?

[/ QUOTE ]

Probably on the basis that the dealer said he won the hand.

To the OP: What was the real winner's reaction when he got back to the table?

soulvamp 12-01-2007 04:39 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]


Guy with A5 protests,

[/ QUOTE ]

On what basis?

[/ QUOTE ]

Probably on the basis that the dealer said he won the hand.

To the OP: What was the real winner's reaction when he got back to the table?

[/ QUOTE ]

He sat out a hand or two. I don't think he ever had a clue what happened.

If I'm A5 guy, I'm not so much troubled that the pot got shoved to 22, but I'm a little irritated at the big mouths at the table who had no business getting involved in it.

AngusThermopyle 12-01-2007 04:44 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]


Guy with A5 protests,

[/ QUOTE ]

On what basis?

[/ QUOTE ]

Probably on the basis that the dealer said he won the hand.


[/ QUOTE ]

It could have been that he never saw the 2's and so disputes the fact that he did in fact lose. Maybe he thought the guy showed 2-3 suited.

AngusThermopyle 12-01-2007 04:47 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
[ QUOTE ]


If I'm A5 guy, I'm not so much troubled that the pot got shoved to 22, but I'm a little irritated at the big mouths at the table who had no business getting involved in it.

[/ QUOTE ]

So you want to be awarded a pot you are not entitled to?
Everybody at the table has every right, maybe even an obligation, to make sure the pot goes to the right person.

JackInDaCrak 12-01-2007 05:00 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
yeah dude once the cards are opened it's everyone's business.

MicroBob 12-01-2007 05:27 PM

Re: Dealer mucks winning hand but shoves him the pot anyway
 
soulvamp - as the others are pointing out, you are wrong.
Once the cards are tabled it is up to everyone to correct obvious dealer mistakes should they see one.

The A5 guy had no right to the pot and no justification to be upset at anyone for correcting the dealer.
You seem to play live often enough that I would think you should already know that.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.