Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Brick and Mortar (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Is there logic behind this rule?? (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=558213)

Ben K 11-30-2007 07:39 PM

Is there logic behind this rule??
 
Most places I've played allow no talk about your hand whilst it is in progress. However, my local club does. Up till recently you could say what you like but one night some dipstick claimed the rule was that you could say anything except the truth about your hand - and if it subsequently turned out that you were telling the truth then your hand is mucked. The manager was called and he upheld it "because he'd heard that rule before" and he's since enforced it on someone else.

To me this is dumb. You can either talk about your hand or not. A half way house is simply pointless. Maybe there's some logic in it though and you guys can help??

budblown 11-30-2007 08:10 PM

Re: Is there logic behind this rule??
 
dumb and dumber - dipstick is Harry and Manager is Lloyd

ATrebek 11-30-2007 08:15 PM

Re: Is there logic behind this rule??
 
If you say what your hand is in a multi-way pot, you should be giving a warning/penalty. Heads-up you should be asked not to do it again. Under no circumstances should your hand be killed unless its your 14th warning.

Rottersod 11-30-2007 08:36 PM

Re: Is there logic behind this rule??
 
[ QUOTE ]
If you say what your hand is in a multi-way pot, you should be giving a warning/penalty. Heads-up you should be asked not to do it again. Under no circumstances should your hand be killed unless its your 14th warning.

[/ QUOTE ]

Cash game HU you can say or do whatever the !@#$%! you want. Show your cards, talk about your hand, his hand, the hand at the table next to you, who cares? I wouldn't even play at a casino that didn't allow this.

JohnnyGroomsTD 11-30-2007 08:53 PM

Re: Is there logic behind this rule??
 
There is some logic to the rule. In a tournament, if you tell a guy what you have, and it's true, you are sof playing. You are gicing out information that allows the other player to make a decision that effects every player in the tournament. (If you tell a "friend" that you have aces and you don't want to bust him)

With that said, I fell it is either a yes or no rule. Either you can, or you cant talk about your hand. This applies heads up. Multi way, where you may compromoise a 3rd player's interests in the pot, I feel it is wrong.

Spiffysean 12-01-2007 09:39 AM

Re: Is there logic behind this rule??
 
It's ot a yes or no thing. There is certain dialogue in certain situations that is just not acceptable. Heads up, anything goes, basically. I've cut deals, made the guy pay to see one of my cards, run it twice, chop it up, etc. It doesn't matter, you can do what you want.

The "No talking" rule was made to stop collusion, and information being given that would affect the hand for multiple people. In that vein, it's just as distructive to muck your hand and say "I had pocket 7's" as it is for someone who is still in the pot to discuss the action in progress.

It's like that donkey who points out the "possible flush" when the 3rd Heart comes out on the turn. Nothing pisses me off more than reading the board and saving fish money in the game.

If you aren't in the hand, shut up.
If you are in the hand with more than one player, shut up.
If you are in a heads up pot, say whatever you want.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.