Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Business, Finance, and Investing (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Starting An Online Poker Room (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=532094)

CoolWave 10-26-2007 06:23 PM

Starting An Online Poker Room

I have no plans of actually doing this. What would be the process of starting an online poker room? You would obviously need investors. How much money would it take? The fact is their are online poker rooms and their are some people who have started them and are getting the benefits. What would be the process? lets keep this thread serious

fadedstar 10-26-2007 10:05 PM

Re: Starting An Online Poker Room

1) unlimited starting funds.
2) expertise to get some credibility over security (servers, cash transfers, etc.)
3) unlimited marketing budget
4) patience
5) go back to number 1)

6) ......

7) profit!

As a business owner, i wouldnt invest in an online poker room honnestly. Too much competition and very few ways to stand out from the crowd.

ski 10-26-2007 10:28 PM

I talked to the manager of one of the Ipoker skins and its actually not as much money to start one as I thought.

He said $500,000 is the absolute minimum and 2-3 million is a better amount to start with. He said its pretty rare that they all together fail but a lot of them are not the insaine cash making ventures that most people believe they are.

I'd assume creating an indendant network like Poker Stars or Party did would require a lot more.

I would almost certainly invest in an online poker room if I knew the owners and management were credible and competant.

CoolWave 10-27-2007 03:47 AM

I have a great idea for a poker room that i am sure would blow up and be very profitable however i do not have assets or guidance to a team of investors.

dj_mercury 10-27-2007 10:28 AM