Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Business, Finance, and Investing (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Gold and Credit Cards (noob question) (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=511376)

pifhluk 09-28-2007 03:32 PM

Gold and Credit Cards (noob question)

Preface: I have no idea what I am doing in regards to this and am a complete noob but I had an idea and was looking for some advice.

So if I can borrow 15K+ on credit cards and continually move this money around so that it maintains 0% interest by using balance transfers etc. what should I buy with this money?

The first thought that came to mind was to just by gold coins on my credit cards, golds value goes up, keep my interest at 0% get a couple hundred dollars worth of gift cards and make some money.

I understand about credit ratings and that if I have my credit cards racked up then I will not be able to easily loan money and my rating will drop. Currently my credit score is 770+ across all 3 agencies and I have somewhere around ~30k of available credit and not even 1k of it used.

Does this sound like a good idea?

petp_the_greek 09-28-2007 03:41 PM

Re: Gold and Credit Cards (noob question)

not a smart idea, if the market goes down then youre in deep poo-poo. as an example, a guy i used to work with back in 2001 had around 35K in his 401(k) plan....he cashed it all out, well, actually he took a loan against all he had and invested it all in internet stocks. well....u can imagine what happened next.

ChuckyB 09-28-2007 04:06 PM

Gold has more than doubled in the last 6 years and NOW you want to leverage in?

Buy low, sell high.

I'm of the opinion that this kind of borrowing to invest doesn't make a whole lot of sense. As the first responder mentioned, risk is a big deal.

soko 09-28-2007 05:44 PM