Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Down swings (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=546912)

pokerb 11-15-2007 03:15 PM

Down swings

Hi all,
I am in the midst of my worse downswing ever since I started playing NL online. i play 1/2NL, anywhere from 2-4 tables and within the past couple of weeks I am stuck 20 or so buyins. i only play about 1-2 hours a day, when i get a chance to play. i'll be first to admit that im not playin well, but i also know for a fact that i am getting a real bad run of cards.
My question is, how does everyone here deal with these type of downswings? do you sit out for while? do you drop in limit? for me, its got to the point where once i sit and play, i already know i will lose. my confidence is shot and i cant get a winning streak going anymore.

evilempire 11-15-2007 03:16 PM

Re: Down swings

you aren't playing winning poker. the only cure is to move up so you can make the money back ten times faster.

Jurrr 11-15-2007 04:08 PM

please post some example hands which you play good but still lose in this thread for our entertainment

Nonfiction 11-15-2007 04:19 PM

They are one thing

Scansion 11-15-2007 04:24 PM

[ QUOTE ]
They are one thang

[/ QUOTE ]
FYP

luckyjimm 11-15-2007 04:25 PM

Please post screen names so we can assess your terrible play first-hand.

andrew26 11-15-2007 04:44 PM

Ignoring for the moment all the smart-asses that inhabit this forum, I am running bad right now too and I can relate. I have been beating online poker for 48 months without ever having a losing month. Like you, I play in my spare time, as I am a professional by day.

I use my poker income to pay my son's private school tuition of $750 per month, and for fun stuff like family vacations, nice dinners, and for the occasional trip to Vegas for my wife and me.