Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Health and Fitness (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   Wolfram's "Starting Strength" Log (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=514993)

Wolfram 10-03-2007 06:17 PM

Wolfram\'s \"Starting Strength\" Log

My old log was to sprawled and the name sucked so I condensed it into this one. Here's the old one: Link
I use metric plates at my gym but convert the numbers to lbs in the log.

Stats/History:

32 year old male. 6'3", 220lbs. I was really overweight (286lbs) until around 27 yo. I Started playing tons of squash and eating more healthy. I quickly dropped down to 194lbs. Later I added basketball to my schedule and did light but sporadic strength training. The past 2 years I've gained weight again due to more time spent at work and playing poker. I decided to fix that last summer and began working out more regularly. Then I found this site in the fall and switched to "Starting Strenght".

Goals:

Increase strength, lose 10-20lbs of non-lean mass, look good nekkid, reap benefits on squash court.

Log:

<font color="#0000ff">9/29</font>

Squat: 3x5x135
Bench: 1x5x110, 1x3x135, 2x5x120
Deads: 1x5x135, 1x5x175
Pullups: 1x8x110, 2x8x88 (assisted)

First workout goes well, lots of experimenting with weight. I can go pretty deep on squats (almost ass-to-grass) and weight seems fine. After workout I don't feel tired so I add pullups but get told this is probably not smart. Exercises should get harder once I get familiar with them.

<font color="#0000ff">10/1</font>

Squat: 2x5x135, 1x3x135
Press: 1x5x88, 2x5x77
Pen.Row: 2x5x110

Squats are much harder this time around, with form breaking down, failure in the last set and some minor spraining of the groin (old injury). I take advice to cut back on most of the weight for the first 2-3 weeks while learning good form.

<font color="#0000ff">10/3</font>

Squat: 3x5x88
Bench: 3x5x99