Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Other Other Topics (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   I have no social skills, am incredibly boring, and want to end it (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=476573)

BeL0wMe 08-13-2007 04:25 PM

I have no social skills, am incredibly boring, and want to end it

Sorry for the emo post, but amongst other 2p2'ers I'm sure it's a fairly common problem. This is something I've dealt with for about 10 years since I was a freshman in college to now, when I'm applying to law school. Whenever I go out with people, I can never join in the conversation, and am usually just that wallflower who just sits on the sidelines while everyone else talks. It's gotten so bad, that I've even become uncomfortable with the only 2 people who are my friends.

I just hate being so awkward, and wanted to know how to fix this. I'm not overweight, or anything, on the contrary I'm in good shape 6'2 195, so that's not the problem. Anything that I can possible do to ameliorate this problem? Should I get a life coach, read the news more to become more interesting? Get more hobbies? Get a self help book? Sorry if this is long, I feel like I've just been in a rut for so long and there is just no way out of it [img]/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]

Quicksilvre 08-13-2007 04:26 PM

Re: I have no social skills, am incredibly boring, and want to end it

I'm interested to see replies; I'm not nearly as badly off as you but I see myself a little bit here

WiSeIVIaN 08-13-2007 04:28 PM

Force yourself to talk to strangers several times a day. It is irrelivent if you come off sounding like a boring idiot to a person you'll never truely know. Like everything, social skills take practice.

talentdeficit 08-13-2007 04:28 PM