Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Health and Fitness (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   SamG's Log (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=438211)

SamG 06-28-2007 03:11 PM

SamG\'s Log

Hi, I'm SamG. I'm a scrawny ass weakling who needs to get into shape. This is my log.

I'm posting publicly to 2p2 as motivation. Also I'm considering other forms of motivation, NaNoWriMo style, like pledging to send a check for $X to some political group I detest if I don't stick to the program for at least some period of time.

All comments, criticisms, whatever are welcome.

* VITALS

Height: 6'0"
Weight: ~165
Sex: Male

My scale at home says I'm ~17% body fat. Not sure how accurate that is. I definitely have a bit of a gut and not much muscle.

* BACKGROUND

I'm a complete novice to weight training, and I'm out of shape. As I noted in the other thread, over the last 6 months I've lost 35 pounds dieting. Now I want to build some muscle.

* PLANNED ROUTINE

Rippetoe Starting Strength, with cardio on off days.

* EQUIPMENT

Right now a Bowflex Sport, which I bought on sale before finding the Health and Fitness forum. I know, I know.

Not sure yet whether I want to invest in some free weights or join a gym. I don't have a great place to keep the equipment, other than maybe my one car garage. Plus I wouldn't mind joining a gym with a pool. On the other hand I would much prefer the convenience of a home gym.

Edit: Didn't make this clear in the original post, but I'm doing one or the other. I'm not going to try to use the Bowflex for Rippetoe. Any guidance or what I should do / what I should buy is appreciated.

* DIET/SUPPLEMENTS

Not sure what I need to do here, but I eat terribly now. I know nothing about supplements or if I should even be thinking about using them. Advice?