Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Other Other Topics (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Skills, ideas you learned in college (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=412047)

danlux 05-25-2007 09:03 PM

Skills, ideas you learned in college

I'm talking about things you learned in the actual class part of college, not drinking, girls, etc. In your career, what skills or other things you learned in college had a direct impact in your job?

mouseman 05-25-2007 09:12 PM

Re: Skills, ideas you learned in college

English (communications) classes helped a lot and I work in IT.

elus2 05-25-2007 09:20 PM

How to write.
How to think.
How to learn.

Rhone 05-25-2007 09:23 PM

understanding what inductive and deductive logic are, and ways to apply them to problem solving, have been extraordinarily helpful. also, basic microeconomics.

kerowo 05-25-2007 09:29 PM

1st time:
how to build scenery
how to move scenery
how to design scenery - no impact
how to stage manage
how to design lights - no impact
how to build props

2nd time:
MS Office
JCL
COBOL
IMS - no impact
DB2
SQL
C - no impact
C++ no impact

What I didn't learn in school that has had an impact
SOX crap
Paper work

firstyearclay 05-25-2007 09:56 PM

Negotiation Skills.

fyc

kyleb 05-25-2007 10:15 PM

Negotiation, accounting, microeconomics, financial analysis.

Hiiiiiiii 05-25-2007 10:27 PM

Time management and typography. Oh I learned about coke also...

mbillie1 05-25-2007 10:29 PM

The difference between Husserl's and Levinas' respective phenomenologies, although I think it probably fell out of my brain a while ago

Socialite 05-25-2007 10:32 PM

How to play poker [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

kidcolin 05-25-2007 10:38 PM

Lots of engineering stuff. A decent amount of which I don't use in my current engineering job (logic design), but will come in handy at some point.

Jeff W 05-25-2007 10:42 PM