Two Plus Two Newer Archives

Two Plus Two Newer Archives (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/index.php)
-   Business, Finance, and Investing (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Your Opinions About Jim Cramer (http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=234777)

john voight 10-12-2006 07:51 PM

Your Opinions About Jim Cramer

Im new to the game. Dont know the darnest thing about investing. I figured I can learn some of the jargon by watching his CNBC show. I looked on the net and couldn't find any negetive comments about him.

Behind the wild antics is he a decent analyst?
How does his podcast, Action Alert PLus, and books compare to his show? Are they all solid too?

Thanks for the help.

eastbay 10-12-2006 07:54 PM

Re: Your Opinions About Jim Cramer

[ QUOTE ]
I looked on the net and couldn't find any negetive comments about him.

[/ QUOTE ]

You didn't look very hard.

eastbay

gull 10-12-2006 08:12 PM

You can do much better by investing in index funds.

wegs the wegs 10-12-2006 09:49 PM

I tend to think of Cramer and investing in the same light as Phil Hellmuth and poker.

Both have done very well in the past in their professions and have made a lot of money for themselves.
Both make for good ratings on TV for their standout antics.
Both have made a lot of money outside of their professions by marketing themselves successfully.
Both are very appealing to people just starting out in the field.
Both are terrible at teaching others on how to do what they do.
Both are laughed at by people who know what they are doing.

otctrader 10-12-2006 11:12 PM

Read "Trading with the Enemy" by Nicholas Maier(sp?) for a candid look at JC

pig4bill 10-13-2006 12:16 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I tend to think of Cramer and investing in the same light as Phil Hellmuth and poker.

Both have done very well in the past in their professions and have made a lot of money for themselves.
Both make for good ratings on TV for their standout antics.