PDA

View Full Version : The Quadratic Formula

Sooga
04-27-2006, 10:27 AM
For those of you who don't know, I'm a high school math teacher.

Yesterday we had a brief math department meeting, where we all talked about the latest goings-on. Our math department chairperson was complaining about one of her Calculus kids who had the equation c^2 - 5 = 0, and solved it using the quadratic formula. This was met with laughs and chuckles from the rest of the teachers. But not me.

I asked her, 'Is that really so bad?'

She looked at me incredulously, dumbstruck that another teacher wouldn't find that horrible. Look, this is the way I see it. It is a researched fact that some people are simply born with a predisposition for math and think more logically than others. For these people, they see c^2 - 5 = 0, they know to add the 5 over and root both sides. Easy.

For the rest, who just don't 'see' math as well as the others, they can make up for the difference by simply memorizing rules and formulas and steps. The fact that the student above used the quadratic formula probably puts him in this camp. Perhaps he forgot what to do when you have a 2nd degree equation with no 1st degree term. But he did remember what always works for any 2nd degree equation: the quadratic formula. So he used that, and got the answer right. Is that so bad? In fact, when I go over the quadratic formula in my algebra 1 classes, I tell them specifically that certain methods have their limitations (factoring, completing the square, etc.), but quadratic formula will always work (yes I know completing the square will always work, but when you have to deal with fractions, it can get pretty ugly for them).

Basically it comes down to this:

Is the quadratic formula the best way to solve c^2 - 5 = 0? Obviously not.
Will you get the mathematically correct answer using the quadratic formula? Yes.
Would I mark this problem wrong if a student did it this way? No.