PDA

View Full Version : Sun Tzu vs. Alexander the Great

HtotheNootch
12-21-2005, 01:16 AM
I was reading the extremely interesting article "Sun Tzu Sklansky", and I wondered about a few things. I'm a fair student of history, and I remember from my readings about Alexander the Great that he took an entirely different tack.

According to the article (I'm more into Greco-Roman history than Eastern) Sun Tzu - at least as paraphrased - said, "The highest form of generalship is to balk the enemy's forces; the next in order is to attack the enemy's army in the field; and the worst policy of all is to besiege walled cities."

Well if Alexander is any indication, he ignored this policy on at least one occasion. When a city that had high walls and was protected by water refused to surrender to him he decided to build a causeway that's still in existence today so he could attack. He besieged one of the toughest walled cities in the ancient world because they refused to surrender. He wanted to make an example of one city so he could get others to surrender easily.

I'm wondering if anyone here has any insite as to how this jibes with the Sun Tzu Sklansky quote?

12AX7
12-21-2005, 07:32 AM
Well,
As I recall the academic types state that the three core early documents on strategic thinking are:

1) Art of War - Sun Tzu
2) Book of Five Ring - Myomoto Musashi
3) The Prince - Niccolo Machiavelli

In my reading a contrast stuck out at me. That of East v. West philosophy.

First off, the eastern cultures of those times had a caste system. You were stuck where you were born. Western cultures allowed you to move up and down (somewhat) via skill. Consider too that Toaist and Zen thinking was prevalent in the east. Somewhat different from Western ways of thinking, wherein individual achievement is revered. I do believe putting the group first was the eastern way.