PDA

View Full Version : Poseidon - Possible or impossible?

wacki
04-22-2006, 11:07 PM
After seeing this commercial
http://www2.warnerbros.com/poseidon/

I had a lawyer friend that read "The perfect storm" and now claims to be an expert on waves, boats, etc. He said that the size and length of the wave would continue to roll a boat over and not leave it upside down. He also said the ballast at the bottom of the boat would never allow it to maintain balance upside down. He also doubted waves could capsize a massive ocean liner. (the last statement is obviously flawed IMO considering there are megatsunamis)

This true or not true?

New001
04-22-2006, 11:23 PM
I'm not an expert on this, but doesn't a tsunami that is far from shore barely seem like a wave at all (to an observer on the surface, that is)?

wmspringer
04-23-2006, 12:15 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm not an expert on this, but doesn't a tsunami that is far from shore barely seem like a wave at all (to an observer on the surface, that is)?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes, tsunamis far from shore can be miles long and only inches tall; it grows when it starts hitting the sea bottom and gets kicked up. Get far enough from shore and you can easily go through one without noticing it.

ethan
04-23-2006, 01:11 AM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes, tsunamis far from shore can be miles long and only inches tall; it grows when it starts hitting the sea bottom and gets kicked up. Get far enough from shore and you can easily go through one without noticing it.

[/ QUOTE ]

The wave in the trailer would more likely be a freak wave (wikipedia) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freak_wave). I don't know that the ballast would be guaranteed to right the boat, but I think it's plausible.

New001
04-23-2006, 01:21 AM
From that Wikipedia link:

[ QUOTE ]

Encounter with freak wave