PDA

View Full Version : Poker causing boredom, unhappiness at work

pabst66
01-10-2006, 02:28 PM
I'm not sure if this is a "should I go pro" thread or a "how do I motivate myself at work" thread.

So, I've been playing online for a couple of years, and have gotten serious about it in the last year or so. I play sngs and have proven that i'm a winning player over a large sample size. I have the potential to make much more money playing poker than I make at my current job as a low paid programmer (ie. if I played 30-50 sngs a day at my current win rate and current level I would make about 3x the money I'm making now).

This causes me problems at work, I'm totally unmotivated and uninterested in my job. I resent when I get work piled on me because I have a hard time not thinking I could be making better money doing something I actually enjoy. It's getting to the point where my carelessness could actually start to put my job status with them in jeopardy. I'm a contractor, so I have no benefits, and not much job security, but I'm required to put in a minimum of 40 hours a week at this job.

I have a conservative bankroll for the level I play, and around 2-3 months living expenses in the bank. I have no dependents, although I do have a girlfriend I live with that would be mildly to moderately upset if I went pro - which, if it weren't for her, I probably wouldn't think twice about quitting my job.

I dunno, I just feel a little lost right now, I don't know whether to get motivated and do my programming job or take the plunge, deal with the girlfriend and just go pro.

JohnnyHumongous
01-10-2006, 03:04 PM