PDA

View Full Version : What happens when we die?

pstripling
04-11-2006, 11:11 AM
I am posting this because I am new to the SMP boards and from reading other posts it appears to me that most posters are atheist/agnostic/self-deity. I'm just curious, according to that belief system... what happens when a person dies? And what justification do you have for believing that?

guesswest
04-11-2006, 12:12 PM
I don't know what happens when we die and my justification for that position is ignorance.

pstripling
04-11-2006, 12:17 PM
I appreciate your honesty. What do you think happens?

AJFenix
04-11-2006, 12:18 PM
The same exact thing that happened before you were born. Nothing, aside from obvious physical things such as body decomposing, etc.

TimWillTell
04-11-2006, 12:23 PM
When a tornado emurges from the ocean, it grows in strenght, it rages over the land, and finally... it dies down.
Whats happens to it after its gone?

When I'm dead and gone, I'll be just like the tornado that once roamed the land; going, going, gone...

guesswest
04-11-2006, 12:25 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I appreciate your honesty. What do you think happens?

[/ QUOTE ]

Well I'm tempted to apply Occam's razor and say that nothing happens other than the heart stops beating, brain stops firing and the body decomposes. But I'll entertain the possibility that something else happens, not having died I can't say.

Sharkey
04-11-2006, 12:30 PM
It could be a useful distinction to treat the fates of body and consciousness as two questions.

pstripling
04-11-2006, 12:31 PM
First off, I appreciate the answer. If you truly believe this it leaves me with 2 questions:

1) How did you arrive at this conclusion? IMO the natural human condition is spiritual. If you go to the most remote tribe on Earth who have had no contact with the outside world they are worshiping something (sun god, trees, whatever)