PDA

View Full Version : Intelligent Design vs. Viral Mutation

zhack27
03-25-2006, 01:21 PM
Hey guys,

I'm by no means a scientist so let's see if I'm right about ID...

My understanding of ID is that ultimatly, all it means is that there is no such thing as mutation. That things remain in a constant state.

So does the fact that virus's mutate all the time in and of itself defeat ID ???

Borodog
03-25-2006, 01:33 PM
That's not ID. ID basically boils down to argumentum ad ignorantium. "Because I personally cannot think of a way that this particular structure or behavior could have evolved, it couldn't have, therefor it must have been designed."

It's just one big fallacy.

Lestat
03-25-2006, 02:26 PM
<font color="blue"> "Because I personally cannot think of a way that this particular structure or behavior could have evolved, it couldn't have, therefor it must have been designed." </font>

I wonder if this is correct. Is it,

" Because I personally cannot think of a way..." Or,

"Because I personally cannot think of a way, and neither can anyone else..."

Let's be honest.. There still are a lot of things that evolution has yet to explain.

Lestat
03-25-2006, 02:31 PM
My understanding of ID (and I'm also not a scientist), is that there are things which are too complicated, too beautiful, and too poetic, for them to have occured randomly through mutation and/or natural selection. I don't think that just because a virus mutates, it defeats ID.

Borodog
03-25-2006, 02:34 PM
[ QUOTE ]
<font color="blue"> "Because I personally cannot think of a way that this particular structure or behavior could have evolved, it couldn't have, therefor it must have been designed." </font>

I wonder if this is correct. Is it,

" Because I personally cannot think of a way..." Or,

"Because I personally cannot think of a way, and neither can anyone else..."

Let's be honest.. There still are a lot of things that evolution has yet to explain.

[/ QUOTE ]