PDA

View Full Version : Puzzling belief

bunny
03-22-2006, 10:29 PM
Hi - a puzzling thought occurred to me earlier today. Lestat has recently convinced me that I should believe in an afterlife, given that I believe in a benevolent God who allows evil to exist in the world. The afterlife (real or imagined) is something I have no experience of and no feeling for either way - it's never really interested me.

What I find strange is that I have now been convinced by rational argument to adopt a new belief in order to keep my worldview consistent. However, I feel no certainty at all for this new belief - certainly nothing close to the certainty I feel for theism (which rests on slender, though rational, grounds).

This seems almost a paradox to me - I have two beliefs one of which I am sure of with fairly weak evidence for, the other of which I am quite ambivalent about, despite having much better grounds for believing it. I figure I must be missing something (Chez - I'm hoping you'll read it as you're pretty good at pointing out where I've missed the obvious).

Cheers

chezlaw
03-22-2006, 10:56 PM
[ QUOTE ]
This seems almost a paradox to me - I have two beliefs one of which I am sure of with fairly weak evidence for, the other of which I am quite ambivalent about, despite having much better grounds for believing it. I figure I must be missing something (Chez - I'm hoping you'll read it as you're pretty good at pointing out where I've missed the obvious).

[/ QUOTE ]
Minor nitpick - you can't have better grounds for believing in an after-life than for believing in god as your belief in an after-life is totally grounded in your belief in god.