PDA

View Full Version : Confessions of a Poker Smoker

foolsfoldd
01-06-2006, 11:26 PM
I will not go so far as to say that I am a professional poker player, but nearly half of my monthly income has been derived from online poker in the last 8 months. I would be less comfortable financially without it and thus am semi-dependent on it.
I, in this span of time, have attempted to quit smoking three times and have seen my play take a notable dive each time I attempted it (once was 5 days, once was 16 days, and once was a week and a half, on-off.)
I clearly have a conflict. I have a goal to quit smoking, because I am nearing by bankroll/savings requirement at which point I am moving to Vegas to play professionally and believe that physical fitness is one factor that can increase overall talent/ability even in non-physical activity ( Phil Ivey, in a recent interview in one of the many poker magazines, stated pretty much the same thing, regarding the many day-long sessions he participates in). However, I will admit that my attention-deficit type personality is controlled MUCH by my smoking habit. This is especially obvious when I play in Brick and Mortar cardrooms. A walk to the parking lot and a smoke can refresh in ways that nothing else can. I want to quit, but see my game suffer when I try, and am afraid that it is not just the short-term withdrawal effects.
Do any of you have experience/advice for this particular situation? Any substitutions/ activities that help?
I am also curious to see what y’all think about the role of physical fitness when it comes to playing poker (perhaps regarding Greg Raymer- My hero but clearly not of chiseled physique).

Any advice would be VERY much appreciated, I would even like to hear other examples of this problem… maybe vindicate this freak who would rather die of cancer at 50 with a successful life of poker behind him than live to 80 by participating in the daily grind.

The Young Gun
01-07-2006, 12:50 AM
The Nicotine chewing gum?