PDA

View Full Version : Why isn't this easy for NASA?

Lestat
03-02-2006, 12:20 AM
Ok, so I'm not an engineer. But why is it so hard for NASA to prevent pieces of foam insulation from striking the heat protective tiles on the shuttles underbelly during lift-off? I'd think it would be a relatively easy matter to install some kind of protective shield between the orbiter and fuel tanks during lift-off. Perhaps something that could break away with the spent SRB's. Even if such a shield needed to be removed once in orbit, what is so hard about devising such a thing?

I'm sure the answer has to do with why I raise aces for a living instead of engineering things.

mroels
03-02-2006, 12:21 AM
corruption corruption corruption

bunny
03-02-2006, 12:25 AM
I'm no engineer either but I believe many of the problems with the shuttle stem from the fact that it was designed from the top down. Rather than using already existant technology and building up a shuttle out of it - NASA said here's what we want - team A design this bit, team B design that bit, etc etc. My (rather limited) understanding is that this top-down approach is quicker overall, but doesnt produce the optimal solutions.

wacki
03-02-2006, 12:30 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Even if such a shield needed to be removed once in orbit, what is so hard about devising such a thing?

[/ QUOTE ]

Do you have any idea what it costs to launch a fresh coat of paint into space?

Lestat
03-02-2006, 01:11 AM
I'm sure you're right about the design process, but this just seems like a REAL easy engineering problem to me. If not a shield, then some type of removable skin or something. I'm sure it's harder than it seems.

Johnny Drama
03-02-2006, 01:15 AM
http://image.misterart.com/grouppix/528x352/1000/g1818.jpg

MrMon
03-02-2006, 03:19 AM
Simple physics. The shield would need to be able to stop a 1 to 2 lb. object traveling at 500 mph. Any shield that could do that would be so heavy as to eliminate any lifting capability in the shuttle.