PDA

View Full Version : NL.02 - Bluff gone wrong...why?

TheStitch
09-12-2007, 04:16 PM
Hi guys,

I just started playing a few cash games on PS, only .01/.02 though.

(If you don't wanna read the following description, here i the hand at pokerhands.org: http://www.pokerhand.org/?1474041)

After about half an hour at the table, the I looked down at my hole cards in the SB and was happy enough to find A /images/graemlins/club.gif K /images/graemlins/heart.gif.
I decided, I would try to win this pot, no matter if I would hit the flop or not.. You know, throwing the occasional bluff out there. /images/graemlins/wink.gif
There was a raise of 3BB's before me, so I thought a re-raise would make sense and I doubled his bet, making it .08 more, which he called quickly.

Well, as you may guess from the title, I didn't hit the flop at all when it came Q /images/graemlins/heart.gif 4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif .

I bet .06 to see where I was at. He pondered for a while and called after some hesitation.

The river was the 6 /images/graemlins/club.gif.

Pretty good card for me and my bluff. No flush and straight draws. From his cautious call on the flop I put him either on pocket pair, a pair of 4's or even 8's, but I just didn't think he had the Q. To force him out, I bet .20 which he again, after some hesitation, called.
Ok, what was going on here? /images/graemlins/confused.gif Should he maybe have the Q after all? I was completely off track, to be honest.

The river came a 3 /images/graemlins/spade.gif.
I checked, feeling truly confused and this dude suddenly decides to get active, betting .20 himself...
/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
Since I had only high card A, I knew my only chance to win was coming over the top, representing rockets or cowboys.
After some consideration, I raised to .60, making it .40 to go.
He went into the tank for almost a minute and finally called.