PDA

View Full Version : Opening from the Small Blind (my strategy)

foal
08-24-2007, 02:20 PM
This is my strategy for opening from the SB. Feel free to criticize, because I'm by no means an expert, but I'm posting this, because I've noticed from watching many uNL videos that I play this situation differently than a lot of players. I'm not sure about higher stakes, because I haven't played higher than .25-.50, but I find that in the micro games I've played in it is effective. I've only played on Poker Stars so there's a chance it's less effective in other micro poker niches, but my guess would be that it's still a good play elsewhere. I realize no one is going to want to read all this crap, so I'm making use of the bold feature.

Here's my line and most common result by far with any two cards (except strong hands, which I raise with) and any flop.
Hero completes --> BB checks --> Hero minbets --> BB folds
If the BB calls it is usually because he caught something like mid pair or a draw. Top pair if he's passive. Don't double barrel unless you're ahead of that range, just give it up.
If he raises it's usually top pair+ and you should fold without a strong hand.

Why is this a good line? When the table folds around to the blinds you're in a heads up match essentially (except with the positions reversed after the flop). But most microers are not going to play it that way. They simply aren't going to be interested in getting in a blind vs blind battle most of the time when they haven't voluntarily put any money in the pot and have shown no interest in their hand.

What if the BB likes to raise when you complete? My line relies on the fact that most players don't. You will run into some players who raise frequently, though, maybe even ATC. If you're up against a player like this you can start folding a lot of hands, but you might want to consider limp-reraising with a strong hand and simply raising or folding with a medium hand.