PDA

View Full Version : C-bets (and a VPIP question)

spkid
07-16-2007, 11:52 PM
I'm new to NL and have a couple of questions if anyone has the time to help me out.

I've had no problem playing tight at limit and have carried that approach over to my NL game. The problem is that "tight's" evil half brother "weak" keeps trying to rear his ugly head. Specifically, C-betting against LAGs is giving me a problem.

I find that when LAGs see me playing 25/13 they call my raises and when no big cards hit the flop they automatically reraise my C-bet and have me sitting there with my AK (or other big pre-flop hand)feeling like a jackass. I don't always C-bet but I do it frequently enough that I get stuck in this situation with a LAG just daring me to call his reraise. Unless I actually have the big pair, I am screwed, and that's much more often that not. Now, I'm folding my busted hand and getting bet at even more on subsequent hands.

Anyway, I was wondering if there is any advice on how to play big cards when the flop misses against players who are just waiting for a no-high-card flop to bet at you or raise you since it happens so often.

Also, I've seen some LAGs at 40/20, 50/24, etc. bordering on maniac and they seem to do alright. Is there any concensus on how high the VPIP can get before even the best players can not profit playing so many hands?

Thanks very much to any replies!!

Miyogi
07-17-2007, 12:11 AM
25/13 isn't that tight to be honest. If you are finding that you are getting played back at too much then first pray for a big pair, but then you can just check the hand to them or check behind. I found often that if you check behind and they check to you again even a small bet will get them to fold. Remember that at this point a scary card is great for you since they just checked twice. You can try this out of positino but it is a little harder to do.

Lego05
07-17-2007, 12:20 AM