PDA

View Full Version : Just a question on taxes

Colombo
06-06-2007, 10:31 PM
Move this to a different forum if this is the wrong one.

Anyway, I have been playing poker now for 3 years, and I've never paid taxes. In 2005/2006 I cashed out 30k (I can find exact total for each year) and in 07 60k.

Now heres my question. My dad talked to a CPA and the guy said that he wants proof of all my winnings and all of my losses. My dad is under the impression (from his research) that this means that I should have a record of every session I play, which would include about 1,000 sessions per year. This just doesn't seem right to me.

In my opinion, what needs to be taxed is simply what I've cashed out. I don't see it being any different. I mean, whatever I cash out is my winnings minus my losses (assuming I never lost $ before).

Another question we pondered was that say a person wins 100k in 2005 but doesn't cash out. Is the government going to want a piece of this? If so, what if he proceeds to lose all of that money in 2006. Does that mean that the government wants him to pay taxes on the 100k even though it never left his poker account?

In short - I just don't see why you can't say "I cashed out 'x' amount of money, tax it." Please educate me.

Sniper
06-06-2007, 10:37 PM
Because you don't make the law.. and hopefully you use PokerTracker.

Colombo
06-06-2007, 10:39 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Because you don't make the law.. and hopefully you use PokerTracker.

[/ QUOTE ]

Okay but what is the difference between Winnings-Losses and total profit? Nothing right? And since you can only cash out profits I don't see why I need all this extra info.

TheEngineer
06-06-2007, 10:43 PM
[ QUOTE ]
what is the difference between Winnings-Losses and total profit?

[/ QUOTE ]

One is the way you want things to be. The other is the way they are.

daedalus
06-06-2007, 10:45 PM